Effective July 1, 2018, the fee for an initial copy of the death certificate will be increasing from $18.00 to $30.00. This fee increase will apply to all requests post-marked July 1, 2018 or later, and all requests received in person July 2, 2018 or later. Please call our front desk if you have any questions. Thank you!
Mon. - Fri. 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
1st Floor Room #130
Monthly, second Tuesday
By Appointment Only Credit card service not available
Many people order more than one certificate when they place their order. Often the extra copy is kept in a safe place, or with a relative.
If you just had a baby, birth records need to be requested by the parents and are not automatically issued. You should order a copy of your baby's birth certificate to ensure that the information is complete and correct.
Our Vital Records office offers certified copies of marriage and divorce verifications for all counties in Utah from 1978 to 2010. However, if the marriage license was originally obtained in Weber county, you must contact the Weber County Clerk to obtain a copy of the record. If a Divorce Decree is needed, they would be at the local District Court. More information on getting a copy of your divorce decree, can be found at UtahCourts.gov.
These records are proof of a marriage or divorce only, with limited information, and can be used by any agency that requires proof of the event.
Utah law allows families to care for their dead without the services of a licensed Funeral Director. However, families that do not wish to retain a Funeral Director must file a death certificate and comply with state laws and rules regarding the disposition of human remains.
To begin the death certificate, contact the local Health Department in the county where the death occurred to assist you, or contact the State Office of Vital Records and Statistics for information on filing a death certificate. You may also visit State Office of Vital Records.